Five Workouts This Week??

It’s Friday. And I’m not too ashamed to say that usually I skip Fridays at the box. Three or four workouts a week has been the norm for me for a long time… Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday when I can get in for a team workout. That’s difficult during the girls’ soccer season, so Saturdays are very hit and miss.

20151016_093631But three or four workouts a week is fine. It usually gives me enough time to recover and rebuild a bit.

This week hasn’t worked that way. I’ve been at Crossfit Continuum every day this week. It’s been very weird. πŸ™‚

I did Monday and Tuesday as per usual, then Ev convinced me to go Wednesday. I was hurting Thursday and didn’t do well, but went anyway. And I went today with every intention of just cheering the girls on during the workout on their day off, but ended up doing the workout anyway.

I scaled the heck out of this workout, but I was moving for 30+ minutes.

The girls and I got to the box for the 8:30 class only to discover we were it. πŸ™‚ So Coach Drea got to deal with 3/4 of the Fitzpatrick clan. We warmed up with a 500m row and talked some about the movements.

We did Helton today (be sure to read the story about this one at the Continuum site)… 3 rounds for time:

  • Run 800m
  • 50/30# dumbbell squat cleans, 30 reps
  • 30 burpees

20151016_093628There were two big flags in this one for me… Running is bad for me (on the advice of Caleb, our chiropractor and fellow crossfit athlete) and after Wednesday, I don’t want to do any more burpees and shred my left shoulder again. It’s still taped up courtesy of Caleb. So I scaled a ton:

  • Row 1000m
  • 15 25# kettle-bell squat cleans and 15 air squats
  • 30 sit-ups

And it still took me 30+ minutes…

  • Mickey – 39:09, 15# dumbbells
  • AJ – 41:09, mix of running and rowing, 8# dumbbells
  • Me – 35:07 (my adjustments above)

Did I do the workout? Well, I did a workout. And I was sweating like a beast the whole time, so I think it was ok. πŸ™‚

Meanwhile, Jimmy was working on back squats (looks like he hit 290# today, which is phenomenal!).

20151016_093637The 9:30 class came in… we saw Heather, Kurt, Deana (and Marino stopped in), Nick & Lisa, Monica & Kaila (and Ava), and Lori… Looked like a fun group of folk as always. πŸ™‚

Hope the 9:30 crew had a fun time!

Thanks for letting me scale Drea. The girls did awesome. Very proud of both of them for gutting it through that one.

I do think that the Zone Diet, if nothing else, has given me more fuel to burn during workouts and lessened my recovery time a bit. I’m not sure about any strength gains and definitely haven’t lost weight, but we’ll see how measurements look at the end of the month…

Won’t make it to the team workout tomorrow unfortunately, but I think my body might rebel even if we could come! Looking forward to a couple of days of recovery time before I start again on Monday. We’ll see how many times I get in next week. πŸ™‚

Have a great day folks!!

Leave a Reply

