Tuesday BS (Back Squats)

So far I have to admit today’s been a good day. Shocking, I know. πŸ™‚

Got some things done for work and headed into Crossfit Continuum for the 8:30 class with my wife Evelyn. We had a good crew today for Coach Drea – Ashley, Sam, Nicole, Casey, Krista, Danielle, and the two of us.

20151006_093154Surprisingly there was no row or run this morning. We started with a 7 minute AMRAP… 15 kettle-bell swings, 10 air squats, and 5 burpees. I used a 53# kettle-bell and have to say I was a little sore (left shoulder, left hip) from yesterday’s workout… So I wasn’t the quickest out of the group. I may have accomplished 4 rounds by the end if I was lucky.

After that we started warming up for back squats and talking about the after-WOD skill work.

The WOD itself was a ladder of back squats: 5 @ 85%, 3 @ 90%, 1 @ 95%, then back down 3 @ 90% and 5 @ 85%.

And the after-WOD was 3 sets of:

  • Tempo Squats (hold to a count of 3 at the bottom, then bounce up), 3 reps @ 50%
  • 10 forward/backward lunges with weight

Being a bit sore today, my body was reluctant to go too crazy. So I did 225#, 235#, 245# today (actually counted the plates today and got the barbell math right). So I was more like 80%, 85%, 90% – which is what I should have done last week. But oh well. πŸ™‚

My hip was a bit angry when we were done, so I slowly worked through the tempo squats with an empty barbell (nowhere near the 50%) and did unweighted lunges.

So not a bad day. I took it easy a bit, but had to listen to my body.

Meanwhile my wife managed to increase her back squat to 175# today. She raised her PR by 10#! Woot!

Plus we had a nice chat with Drea after the workout while Coach Bill had Joel and his wife start the 9:30 class.

Told you it was a good day! Great work everybody!

Leave a Reply

