Monday – 7 minutes of this, 7 minutes of that…

Morning folks, sorry but you’ll be getting double the fun for a while as we work through the transition to a Zone diet vs. the semi-paleo diet we were doing before.

Today started, unlike last week, with a zone-based smoothie instead of some coffee, so I was curious to see how the workout would go. I should be putting together a zone snack now, but will do that in a few minutes.

20151005_103756Made it through my two Monday morning meetings and headed into the box. It was me, Lisa, Lori, and Andrea – and the four of us had the option to start with a 400m run or 500m row. I rowed. 🙂 Then we did some half handstand push-ups, a handstand hold, some overhead plate presses (25#), and I don’t know what else. I got distracted by cute little Ava – Monica’s daughter – being adorable.

After that we grabbed an unloaded bar and started warming up with that. A few shrug and clean progressions later, we warmed up to our working weight for power cleans and deadlifts. This was all for our workout:

Monday, 5-OCT-2015

Following the pattern of 2-4-6-8, etc. reps, complete as many reps as possible in 7 min of:

  • 225/155lb deadlifts
  • Strict handstand push ups

Rest 5 min

Then, following the pattern of 2-4-6-8, etc. reps, complete as many reps as possible in 7 min of:

  • 155/105lb power cleans
  • One-legged squats

20151005_103752So after we got our weights together and set up our stations for strict handstand push-ups and pistols (one-legged squats), we got going. I ended up with 225# on the bar for deadlifts and 145# for power cleans.

My goal was to get through the 8th round in each 7 minute round. And I accomplished that. I got through 42 deadlifts/strict handstand push-ups and 45 power cleans and pistols to a bench.

Did other people do better than I did? Yeah. Does it matter? No, I’m happy for them. 🙂

20151005_103625

So now it’s time for a snack… Have to look at the Zone cheat sheet and see how I can work in a cup of coffee…

Great work everybody!

One thought on “Monday – 7 minutes of this, 7 minutes of that…”

Leave a Reply

