Back Squat Thursday

Today’s post title should really be “crap, I can’t count” or “dude, go a little lower.”

Made it to an 8:30 am class with my wife and Larry at Crossfit Continuum and we had both Coach Isaac and Coach Zac today. We’ve been in a strength cycle for a while now and this is week 3. Next week should be the end of it.

math-is-hardStarted today with a 500m row and then did a few things… Frankenstein walks, sumo deadlift high pulls with a kettle-bell, Cossack squats, slow air squats, stand to squat (gorilla pose from yoga essentially) and pigs-on-skates. But after that it was all business.

Today’s series was 3 reps each at 80%, 85%, 90%, 85%, and 80% of our one rep max.

My percentages would be 220#, 233#, and 247# so I figured I’d go 225#, 235#, 245#. What I ended up with was 225#, 245#, 265#. So at the high end I did 3 reps at better than 95% of my one rep max. Some days barbell math is hard.

What was funnier to me was warming up… I started with 135# on the bar and did a back squat where Isaac kept saying “lower… lower… lower… now how’s that feel?” I was lower than I’ve ever been in a back squat and it didn’t hurt. It was very strange. I attribute some of that to being chiropractically adjusted yesterday by Caleb. And the good feelings didn’t last the whole workout, but it was a nice change.

Took a while to get through the five rounds and by the fourth round my right knee was a bit cranky, but still… I managed to get through it all before Isaac pointed out that I’d done 265# three times at the top, not 245#. Oops. That math thing. Something tells me my one rep is going to go up if this progress continues. 🙂

20151001_093321Meanwhile Ev & Larry were chugging away as well. She did 135#/145#/155# as her progression. 155# was her old one rep max (165# is her new one from May I think she said) and she did it 5 or 6 times working with Isaac, so I suspect her one rep will be going up as well. Not sure what Larry hit at the top, but he was chugging through the reps pretty quickly as well.

Once that was done we had two movements to work through… a “weighted squat jump” and good mornings with a bar. When Isaac demonstrated, he did them as lunges initially but by the time we got to them it was more straight up and down, exploding upward from the bottom of the squat. He suggested a 95# bar but eventually dropped that to the regular bar.

It wasn’t too bad. I’m not the best jumper in the world (my brain gets in the way), but I did ok with an empty barbell. Funny enough the jumps were more fun than the good mornings today. My low back and hips were a little fired up so it was a bit wobbly. I didn’t get through all three sets by the end, but did two full sets alternating 5 of each for 20 total each round.

So it was a good day is what I’m trying to say. 🙂

Next week should be good to finish up the strength cycle and see if I can beat my one rep max for back squats at the end. I think I can. 🙂

A big thank you to Isaac and Zac for helping us out today!

One thought on “Back Squat Thursday”

Leave a Reply

