Monday, Dragging Monday…

Morning folks, for at least a little longer. Last week was awful (only made it to one WOD on Monday and then did the team WOD on Saturday with my family), but I’m hopeful that this week goes better. Hope springs eternal. And it started off with a WOD today at Crossfit Continuum, so that has to help.

Actually it started out with a couple of meetings for work, but they weren’t too bad. And I got a post up on my other blog (Moebius Adventures). So if all that happened and nobody was screaming loudly about anything, it meant I had time for a workout!

20150928_104050Got there about 9:15 and watched the 8:30 class finish up with Coach Drea. I saw Monica, Emily, Mike, Lori, and Larry, plus a new guy. And none of them looked happy. That didn’t bode well for today. Most folks took around 30 minutes to complete the WOD and looked completely spent at the end.

There were four of us in the 9:30 class… Heather, Nick, Andrea, and myself – led by Coach Bill.

We started with a 400m jog and then did a whole mess of different warm-up exercises… Half handstand push-ups, pike sit-ups, handstand holds, wall squats, fire hydrants, mountain climbers, and even roll to candlesticks. Those are always so much fun. Not. And then we warmed up with our front squat and push press weight on the bar…

Today’s WOD was 4 rounds for time:

  • 30 push-ups
  • 115/80-lb. front squats, 20 reps
  • 115/80-lb. push presses, 20 reps
  • 30 sit ups

I had multiple issues today… wrists, knees, and shoulders. But honestly it was my left knee that caused the most issues. Those fire hydrants had me put my knee on the floor and it seems that any time it gets direct pressure on the floor, it gets fired up – and not in a good way. And everything collapsed that direction today.

I started by scaling the weight a bit and only put 95# on the bar. My push-ups were fine for a while, but eventually I had to go to my knees and that fired it up further. And the front squats just made it more angry. So by the middle of the 2nd round I was trying to figure out what to do. I jumped from push-ups to a couple of front squats to my sit-ups just to keep doing *something*. Bill had me drop the front squats and replace with air squats and drop the number of reps in the middle, and that helped reduce some of the stress on the knee.

20150928_104054But my workout went something like this:

  • 20 regular push-ups, 10 from knees
  • 20 95# front squats (in sets of 5)
  • 20 95# push presses (in sets of 5)
  • 30 sit-ups
  • 10 regular push-ups, 20 from knees
  • 2 front squats
  • 30 sit-ups (Bill chatted with me)
  • 10 regular push-ups, 20 from knees
  • 20 air squats
  • 20 push press
  • 30 sit-ups
  • 10 regular push-ups, 20 from knees
  • 20 air squats
  • 10 push-press
  • 40 sit-ups
  • 20 air squats
  • 10 push-press
  • 10 sit-ups

Took me 35:38 to finish. I think I got all the reps in, but boy was this scaled up the wazoo. My goal was just to keep moving, doing something – anything. And I was prepared to just do sit-ups until Bill suggested the alternative.

Thanks for the encouragement and suggestions Bill. I’m not sure I would have gone as far as I did without the severe scaling in the middle. To say it was “heavily modified” is an understatement. But hey, it’s done and I can move on with my day… Great work everybody!

We’ll see if the knee responds to a bit of ice and ibuprofen and hope that it’s happier with some back squats tomorrow.

Have a good day folks!

Leave a Reply

