Monday, Monday…

Morning folks.

I’ve decided that instead of writing up my WOD progress in Facebook, I’d do it in my blog. I have a bit more flexibility writing it up here and it will go immediately to my Facebook wall anyway, so it amounts to about the same thing. 🙂

This week is going to be a bear and I’m only going to get a couple of chances to work out, so I figured I might as well start the week with some physical activity in the box.

Arrived for an 8:30am workout at CrossFit Continuum with Coach Drea. We had a full class today. Lori, Monica, Mike, Larry, Todd, Nicole, Casey, and yours truly. (The 9:30am class came in later – looked like Heather and Andrea joining Drea for that one.)

20150921_093031Started with a 400m jog instead of a 500m row. Why? Because it was nice outside and I wanted to. No other reason. After that we did some shoulder mobility and then one-armed kettlebell thrusters, jumping pull-ups, hollow body rocks, roll-to-candlesticks, and mountain climbers. Sets of 10 each. And we went through the whole thing twice.

I was ok with everything in the warm-up (even the one-armed thrusters, which I’m not great at) except for the roll-to-candlesticks. Several months ago I did one and damn near killed myself by backpedaling into a counter on the wall. I’m not good at them. The idea of thrusting my body off the floor into a standing position is something that I just can’t wrap my brain around, and my body knows this. (For an example, check out this excellent post at GymnasticsWod explaining the movement…)

Once that was done we grabbed an unloaded barbell and did some thruster practice, just to refresh our memory of how those work. Front squat into push-press. Not an unfamiliar movement, but not one we’ve done for a little while in any sort of high frequency.

And we worked on pull-ups. Chest-to-Bar is what the workout calls for, but only a handful of us have those down. After not working out for a few days (confession time: it’s been three days since my last WOD), nothing was moving easily today. But I did the best I could.

Today’s WOD is here. 10 minute AMRAP. Thrusters and C2B pul-ups in an ascending ladder. 5/5/10/10/15/15/20/20/etc. 95# on the bar for guys. 65# for ladies. Pretty straightforward.

20150921_093026Some folks from earlier classes made it to 100 reps, which meant they were well into the round of 20 or starting 25, which is impressive. I personally was shooting to finish the round of 15s and maybe get into the 20s. And I did. But I lowered the weight slightly to 75# because my left wrist wasn’t moving well and I knew this combination was going to do me in pretty quickly.

I made it through 5/5/10/10/15/15 and got one thruster in the 20’s round done. So not too bad. My thrusters were a bit rough in spots but ultimately it was the pull-ups that killed me. I have multiple hand wraps in my bag and like a dummy didn’t use any, so by the end I had a couple of places that tore.

20150921_103149Other folks in the class got into the 90s which was awesome! The beauty of crossfit is that I’m only ever really competing against myself in any workout, so I can cheer everybody else on while I’m sucking wind. 🙂

After all that we did some mobility work. Quad mashing with an unloaded barbell and then rolling our upper back between the shoulder blades on that same barbell. My shoulders were cranky, so I did a bit more banded shoulder mobility as well.

I’m not too painful after all that. My left hip is a little cranky. Right knee. And right elbow. But those will improve through the day.

So there you have it… Monday WOD… DONE.

Next couple of days will be crazy. We’ll see how they play out.

Hope you all have a good day!

Leave a Reply

