One Joy of Crossfit – The Fountain of Youth

This weekend I was able to attend a Team WOD at CrossFit Continuum. Sometimes the rest of my family goes with me, but this time it was just me participating (my youngest hung out with the kids and played Minecraft since there was no Kids’ WOD). When that happens, I get to team up with some of my fellow athletes at the box – and occasionally I get to work with folks I haven’t worked out with before.

11377075_10153368781679648_2353296915319067126_nThis time I was able to work out with Robert, Richie, and Sam. Working out with Robert is great and it happens a lot on Saturdays. He and I are roughly the same age, work in similar jobs, and are both big geeks. But I’d not worked out with Richie or Sam before. I suspect both are probably in their early 20s, if not just out of high school. They’re both great kids, but I have a sneaking suspicion that if we add both their ages together I’d still be older than they are at 45.

So I wasn’t sure how I’d do working with a couple of younger, stronger kids, but gave it my all.

And it was a lot of fun. 🙂

The workout itself was generated on the fly by Coach Drea from one of the various card decks of movements she’s picked up. There were 8 of us participating, so she picked 8 different cards based on numbers we’d throw out (1-13 and low/high). We ended up with a 30 minute AMRAP:

  • 4 toes 2 bar
  • 12 push-ups
  • 100 med ball cleans
  • 100 V-ups
  • 100 situps
  • 100 double unders
  • 8 Russian twists
  • 40 bench press

It was a lot of body-weight exercises except for a 20# med ball (which I also used for the Russian twists) and the bench press. And I did double the single-unders for my double-unders since I’m still working on those. But we either split the reps among all four of us or if it was a low count (< 10) just did them all.

We don’t do a lot of bench press in our workouts. So I was the wimp – going with 135# on the bar while the rest of the guys did 165#. (Even Robert did 245# and more after the workout trying some max weight bench presses – I was impressed!) And even with 135# it was a bit of a struggle to get through 10 reps in a row.

Not Me Trapped Under a Bar
Not Me Trapped Under a Bar

But what I found (and it shouldn’t have surprised me) was that, especially with *this* workout, I did just fine. I hung in, did my part, and chugged right along. Funny enough, Robert and I did a little better with the abdominal-based pieces (V-ups, sit-ups, twists) than the younger guys did.

Ultimately though, every time I go to workout at our box there’s usually a mix of folks of different ages. Some days I work out with younger folks. Some days it’s older folks. And usually it’s a mix. I suspect it’s the same in other places.

If I was more competitive I might be challenged or threatened by the younger folks, but that’s not the case. I’m 99% competing against myself more than anyone else. And I have fun with whomever it is happens to be in the classes – both trainers and athletes. Sometimes that youthful optimism and enthusiasm sometimes wears off when I work with younger folks – like Lyle, a police officer. He pushed me one day to get to 195# for my one rep max push press – and that was fantastic. I’m still not sure how I did that much weight, but I must have fed on his youthful energy that day.

It’s just one more reason why CrossFit works. Age doesn’t matter. And the mix changes every workout just like the workouts themselves.

I was happy as a clam that I was able to hang in with the guys on Saturday. Of course, my abs are a little fried now – but they’ll recover!

Thanks guys for letting an old, slow guy work out with you. It was fun! 🙂

By the way – I’m starting a new effort – WODTales.com. Come check it out. Are you a CrossFit athlete, trainer, or box owner? Want to participate and answer a few questions for an interview? Drop me a line on the Contact page!

Leave a Reply

