Looking For Sleep Remedies…

Although I’ve been using this site to largely talk about crossfit, diet, and goals and such… On this, my 45th birthday, I have something to get off my chest… I don’t sleep much, but not for a lack of trying.

Those of you who have known me forever won’t be shocked by this fact. 🙂

KTnedq5EcI remember being a teenager and having the ability to sleep for HOURS. Like it was an Olympic sport or something. And back then, I could sleep 4 or 5 hours or even 10-12 hours and know it was good sleep. Quality sleep.

These days, not so much.

I’m a somnambulist. It’s just a fancy word for “sleep walker.” It’s true. And if I’m not walking or freaking out in my sleep, I’m probably talking in my sleep. My poor wife has been dealing with it for almost 15 years now. My parents and sister had to deal with it while I was growing up. I even called 9-1-1 once while living alone because I was convinced a good friend of mine from college (Matt) had been bitten by a snake in my living room. Of course, I “woke up” as I dialed the last 1 in 9-1-1 and ended up having a lovely chat with the person on the phone and the pair of cops who showed up at my door before long.

There are many stories that I could tell, such as dreaming that a poster above my bed was really a hole through which little fuzzy creatures were falling out or the time I took some sort of sinus medication and punched a hole in the wall before pulling out insulation because there was someone trapped behind the drywall.

These are real stories, I promise.

After our first daughter was born, I don’t remember having any worse sleep issues than before she was born. But something happened after our second was born and I have progressively managed less and less sleep as the years go by. I wish I could pinpoint what it was, but I think my system just got used to sleeping lightly so I could wake up and take care of whatever happened at the drop of a hat.

Now, I must tell you that nobody in my family sleeps all that well. My Mom has been dealing with rheumatoid arthritis for three decades and my Dad has been fighting PTSD for longer than that. Even my sister doesn’t sleep all that well. So I suspect that some of my sleep issues are genetic. Either that or it’s just a learned behavior.

9Tpedq7acOver the last couple of years and months, I’ve been trying different things to help me sleep. Let me list some of the most recent ones…

  • Sleep Shepherd (http://sleephat.com/) – a hat that uses sound to lull your brain to sleep
  • Nutravana “Sleep Tight” – Combination of coconut oil, lavender, chamomile, ylang-ylang, and neroli – essential oils to help you sleep
  • Sleep mask
  • Miracle Bamboo Pillow
  • Sleep Number Bed

Yes, I’m a little desperate. The hat may give that away. 🙂

I’ve also attempted:

  • Self-hypnosis
  • Meditation
  • Working out before bed – later crossfit workouts or yoga or even just stretching or tossing in a few sit-ups or push-ups
  • Cutting off caffeine by noon
  • Cutting out alcohol and chocolate
  • Turning off the ceiling fan
  • Turning on a fan for white noise in a corner
  • White noise generator on iPad

The lists go on… Even with all of that, some nights I can get 3 or 4 hours in a row together. Other nights I’m up every 15-30 minutes like a yo-yo. And if I have a late dessert, I might as well just go sleep on the couch (which I do sometimes). It’s not like I stay up late either… I’m usually in bed by 10, lights out by 10:30, and up at 6. I try to be in bed to give myself the time to get some quality sleep in. It just doesn’t happen.

So here’s my question oh great and wise Internet people…

What works for you? If you have any great sleep secrets, this tired dude would like to hear about them.

Thanks in advance. 🙂

One thought on “Looking For Sleep Remedies…”

Leave a Reply

