Update – More than 40% into the 90 days…

Over the last week or two, I’ve come to a realization that perhaps my initial goals were a bit “off” for me. Not far. But enough that I think it’s time to do a bit of a course correction going forward. What course corrections? Heck if I know!

We started back on April 3 and today is May 11. That puts me at 38 days into my 90. 42%.

Original Goals

check-list-hiLet’s look at my original goals…

First, I wanted to improve my endurance. We set a few sub-goals pertaining to rep counts, rest strategy, and an endurance EMOM which I haven’t managed to do even once.

Second, I wanted to improve my appearance. That boiled down to weight (get down to 210/215 pounds) and lose three inches off my waistline.

Third, I wanted to improve my mental focus through meditation and preparation (meals mostly, but other things too) and read the book 59 Seconds.

So where are we at?

Endurance

Endurance I think is improving, though there is occasional faltering along the way. I am consciously trying to take smaller breaks between sets and do more reps in those same sets. Sometimes it works. 🙂

11200785_10153293504809648_1429360554076505692_nToday was Rudy – 75 snatches at 75# for time. It took me 10:01 to finish. I’ve not done it before, so I don’t have a baseline, but I was having serious breathing issues by about rep 6. Coach Bill did a great job of keeping me going in an attempt to break through this largely mental barrier. Other folks were finishing in 5 to 7 minutes. But that doesn’t bother me – I was happy that I finished. And now I have a baseline for the next time it comes up.

Both rest strategy and rep counts came into play for this WOD, so I think I did ok. Almost every time I wanted to stop at 5, I pushed to 6 or further. Almost.

But the EMOM is still sitting out there taunting me. Will I get to it? I really should even just as a baseline.

So Endurance is chugging along.

Appearance

Appearance… Yeah, that’s not going so well. I’ve actually gained weight and fluctuated quite a bit. This morning I was at 227. But we’ve been eating like crap lately.

Here are my excuses, in no good order…

  • End of the school year madness with two active girls.
  • Soccer season with a wife and two girls ga-ga for the sport.

It amounts to time. I don’t have any. Some days we’re hardly home. Dinner is whatever we can grab. And the specter of dessert or the desire for sweets slips in when we’re not looking.

But here’s the funny. I had this picture of me in my head with a 6-pack. I’m going to be 45 years old this week. I don’t need a six-pack. I need to improve strength, flexibility, and endurance. Diet will come and go. Hopefully it’ll settle a bit by the beginning of June. That’s a lie and I know it – time will always be a factor.

So Appearance isn’t going all that well, even though I’ve not measured my waistline of late. With weight bouncing between 227 and 229 for the last few weeks, I’m not holding my breath (unless you think that would help with the measurement!?).

Mental Focus

I’ll sum this one up with one word… SQUIRREL!

Out of these three pieces, I’m likely to finish the book by the end of June. Not much else at this point.

So where do we go from here?

squirrel-hiObviously I’m not doing great. But I think I may have been in the “overpromise and underdeliver” mode when I set these goals with Coach Drea.

I’m sticking with the Endurance goals. I think those are chugging along. I’m able to focus on them during workouts and should eventually be able to do the EMOM to see where I’m at. But they’re not really SMART goals at all – they’re more guidelines. Lines in the sand. And though I’ve redrawn them a few times, they’ve been pretty easy to keep in mind at the right times.

Appearance? HA! I’m actually quite pleased with the way I look these days. It’s a far cry from the larger iteration of myself 2 years ago. I’m stronger, faster, and generally keep better care of myself now.

Weight seems to be staying in that 225-230 range. It’s not ideal. And as I pointed out a while back, I’m never quite going to match the whole BMI standard. If I ever get down to 170 pounds (the high end of “Normal Weight” for my height according to the BMI Calculator), I have bigger issues to deal with.

And waistline… We’ll see where we end up. I suspect there are some things I can do daily exercise-wise to help with that. Here’s a list. And getting back to Yoga a couple of times a week in June will probably help too.

Mental focus? I’m all over the place right now. Here’s a partial list…

  • Work – working on developer tooling for Red Hat as a software engineer… currently for two main projects (SwitchYard and Fuse Transformation) and two older projects (Web Services and JBoss ESB)…
  • Writing – between here and my gaming projects I’m writing anywhere from 1,000 to 5,000 words a week and would like to do more. (If you’re a gamer into tabletop roleplaying games, check out my Moebius Adventures blog for some fun stuff.)
  • Reading – I usually have at least one book going, sometimes three or four… Right now I’m reading Monster Hunter Legion (Larry Correia), Nexus (Ramez Naam), 59 Seconds (Richard Wiseman), and Camel in Action (Claus Ibsen, Jonathan Anstey – for work)…
  • Assorted other “stuff” – keeping up with my wife and kids, home upkeep tasks, bills, etc.

I really do want to do more meditation, so I just need to sit my butt down and do it. Of course, that’s counterproductive for health because I sit for my job all the time, so… Catch-22.

Ultimately, I’m a mess, just like everybody else. 🙂

I’ll be curious where I end up at the end of this 90 day period.

Leave a Reply

