8-APR-2015, Rest Day

keep-calm-its-rest-day-1That’s right, today is a rest day.It’s funny though, rest days are a blessing and a curse.

I turn 45 this year. I didn’t start crossfit until I was 42, almost 43. And I’ve had weeks where I’ve worked out darn near every day and weeks where I haven’t worked out once. Striking a balance between them seems to be key.

For example, over the last 7 days I’ve had this schedule:

  • Thursday – WOD
  • Friday- WOD
  • Saturday – WOD
  • Sunday – Rest
  • Monday – WOD
  • Tuesday – WOD
  • Today – Rest

This seems to be ideal for me. If I get 2 or 3 days in a row of workouts, then give myself a day, I can go back and usually pick up right where I left off.

Arnie-1If I don’t get the occasional rest day, I feel it… Yesterday my shoulders were a mess doing OHS and push press. I couldn’t even get 95# up on an OHS when I could just a few days before. Why? I don’t know. Could have been med ball sit-ups and throwing a 20# medicine ball over my head 100 times on Monday. That’s about all I can figure.

Getting old sucks. But not getting old sucks more, so we keep on chugging. Plus I know that if I continually beat up my body (which I didn’t treat all that well for about 20 years), it’s not going to bounce back the way it might have in my younger days. 🙂

That said, I definitely look forward to heading back to the box tomorrow. Obviously I’m thinking about the next workout already. It’ll be a strength day with some skills work thrown in, so it should be good.

Damn. When the heck did I become a gym rat?

Anyway… my struggle today is to make sure that I don’t just go nuts with the eating and that I get some stretching/mobility in. The foam roller is calling my name.

(Note that I did look at my box website today to see what the workout was. I wasn’t planning on going, but I have to admit that running and lunges didn’t make me feel like I was missing anything fun. 🙂 )

Goals Update

Weight: So weight-wise I was at 227 this morning. That’s better than the 228 I was at Monday.

Book: I’m about 1/6 of the way through 59 Seconds. But I’m now stalled while I read Predator One by Jonathan Maberry. It’s definitely bubblegum fiction – but it’s GOOD bubblegum and I enjoy chewing on it for a while. 🙂

Meditation & Meal Prep: I didn’t get my 10 minutes of meditation in, but I did pull together the ingredients for our dinner. Crockpot Crazy Easy Salsa Chicken Mexican Pile-up (Mealfit). We’ll see how that turns out for some salads tonight.

And there you have it. Just been working today. Nothing too exciting. Yay rest day.

If you want something else today – check out today’s Faceless Fitness article comparing Lincoln Logs to Fitness. It’s fun and raises some good points. 🙂

Leave a Reply

