Why all the writing?

As I start this new goals process, I have to wonder if I’m over-sharing with the world. Ultimately there’s only a small set of folks who might even be remotely interested in my progress. And I could just as easily just write this in a personal journal and never let anybody know.

59-seconds-book-coverSo why do it? Why do all this writing?

First, because that seems to be my modus operandi. I’ve been a writer for a long time. Growing up the kid to two English teachers, I suppose it was inevitable. But my love for language, creative storytelling, and clear expression go way beyond that these days. It’s just a part of who I am.

Second, and I’m taking this directly from 59 Seconds by Richard Wiseman, it helps me process things and hold myself accountable…

… From a psychological perspective, thinking and writing are very different. Thinking can often be somewhat unstructured, disorganized, and even chaotic. In contrast, writing encourages the creation of a story line and structure that help people make sense of what has happened and work toward a solution. In short, talking can add to a sense of confusion, but writing provides a more systematic, solution-based approach.”

59 Seconds by Richard Wiseman p.19

And lastly, if it helps one other person by letting them know that they are not alone, then it’s better shared and in the world than stuck in one more dusty notebook or journal.

So if you get tired of my over-sharing, I apologize. It will ebb and flow during the duration of this challenge. But feel free to ignore me or un-friend me or delete me from your feeds. I definitely understand. In a world of too much information, I may fall into the “noise” category more than the “signal” category.

If not, welcome to the journey and I hope something I relay along the way helps in some small way.

Thanks.

Leave a Reply

