6-APR-2015 Update

Morning folks… Thought I’d write up the weekend, today, and offer a bit more commentary here…

Ommmmmm….

My day started at 6am by heading downstairs for some meditation practice for the first time in forever.

A while back I purchased an online class from AWAI (American Writers & Artists Inc) – Meditation for Writers. But I didn’t get very far – only a couple of days in – before “life got in the way”. Now that I’m taking more time to focus in the mornings, I should be able to work my way through at least the morning portion of the class. We’ll see how it goes. Today was “Day 1” of the class.

I have not yet started my project of reading the book – 59 Seconds by Richard Wiseman. But it has moved a few times over the last few days. 🙂 (Here’s a review over at the Wall Street Journal.) I will eventually get to it. Promise!

Meal Planning…

Yesterday I did actual meal planning for the week. Not the full week, every meal – just evenings – but here’s what we’re doing…

  • Monday, 6-APR – Ground beef taco meat (salads)
  • Tuesday, 7-APR – French cut pork chops w/roasted burssels sprouts & apple slaw (Cavegirl Cuisine)
  • Wednesday, 8-APR – Crockpot Crazy Easy Salsa Chicken Mexican Pile-up (Mealfit)
  • Thursday, 9-APR – Spaghetti sauce and spaghetti squash (my recipe)
  • Friday, 10-APR – Bell Pepper Nachos (Mealfit)

Here’s my recipe for spaghetti sauce if you’re interested:

Paleo Spaghetti Sauce (Fitz’s recipe)

IMG_1273
Looks something like this and is very yummy…
  • 2 Tbsp. olive or coconut oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 lbs. ground beef
  • 1 (15 oz.) can tomato sauce
  • 1 (15 oz.) can diced tomatoes
  • 2 Tbsp. oregano
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add oil when hot then add onion & garlic; sauté until tender.  Pour into dish, set aside (or just leave in and add the rest).  Using same skillet, cook ground beef until starting to brown, drain off any grease. Combine ground beef, sauteéd vegetables, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, chili powder & cumin.  Simmer until beef is cooked through, sauce is hot & slightly thickened.

Works great in the crock pot all day as well – just toss all the ingredients in in the morning (beef on bottom, everything else on top) and let cook 4-8 hours. Mix a few times or at the end of the day.

My family eats it in a bowl by itself, over spaghetti squash, or over baked sweet potatoes.

Today’s Workout

Here’s the workout: April 4, 2015 (@ Crossfit Continuum’s website).

Had one meeting and then headed to the box for an 8:30 WOD with Coach Drea. The class included Jana, Jennifer, Emily, and Mike – a great group of folks. And Mike’s little girl was very cute – she wanted to participate in the whole workout. 🙂

We started with a 400m run in the sunshine, then did some entertaining leaps, high knees, hops, and bridges to get things moving prior to the actual workout…

  • 5 rounds of 20 box jumps (30/24″), 20 med-ball sit-ups (20/14#), and 20 Good Mornings.

Prior to actually starting the clock we did some stretching and I used a 30″ box for part of that, deciding quickly that today was not the day to try and jump it. Then while practicing before the WOD discovered my body didn’t want to do 24″ either, so I went to a 20″ box and did a combination of about half box jumps and half step-ups. The rest was as prescribed.

Not too bad for me – 18:05. Jana, Jennifer, and Mike were done well before me and Emily was done a little bit after, but we all kept chugging along. It was a good Monday workout – getting the body moving without killing it outright on the first day of the week.

Diet Notes

This weekend was entertaining. So Friday I went to my goals meeting with Coach Drea… then I went home, wrote it all up here, got a shower, and went to have lunch on my day off at Dion’s. I had a delicious 6″ meatball sub on wheat bread with a fruit cup, a chocolate chip cookie, and two large glasses of sweet tea. Not the most “healthy” of meals.

We then followed that up with dinner at Jose Muldoon’s… Usually I do a Pollo Topolobampo, but lately I’ve been on a fajitas kick – so we split a bowl of Aztec Queso with a ton of chips and then split a big platter of chicken fajitas. I had 3 little tortillas. Again, not the most healthy of meals.

Saturday morning we went to the team WOD and I actually had a paleo-ish breakfast with a piece of Rudi’s bread as toast and a couple of fried eggs on top. We skipped lunch, as we went to my eldest’s soccer game. After we got cleaned up we went to a movie – Home (very cute) – where I proceeded to drink more than half of a giant vat of root beer and consume a box of Red Vines. We then finished it off by a trip to Saltgrass Steakhouse for some Tenderloin Cobb Salad (w/Honey Mustard dressing). So at least the dinner and breakfast were somewhat healthy.

Sunday morning we had Paleo Pumpkin Pancakes, eggs, and bacon, and headed to do Easter brunch/lunch with my family in Denver. We ate all sorts of not-so-healthy things there like a Honey Baked Ham, two types of sweet fruit salad, deviled eggs, and so on. Definitely tasty, but not very healthy.

When we got home, we grilled some chicken and had that with some sweet potato fries. So not too bad again at the end.

Friday morning I weighed 225#. By the end of the weekend I was back to 228#. We’ll see where we’re at by the end of the week…

Will the meal planning help out during the week? Will we fall apart again over the weekend? We shall see…

Leave a Reply

