Goal Setting, part 2

Yesterday I talked about one of the goals – improving my overall endurance during workouts. But there’s two other pieces to discuss… improving my appearance and my mental focus.

#2 Improving Appearance

So what does this mean, exactly?

11002630_797819586966991_8027583679734968057_n (1)
Taken by Mike Anderson during Kiana’s WOD on February 17, 2015

When I started crossfit in February 2013, I was way overweight and out of shape. I went through my two weeks of on-ramp weighing around 250. Just a few months prior, I weighed 262. (You can read more here in another post.)

With my wife and family’s support and the support of my new friends and trainers at Crossfit Continuum, I have made huge strides towards general physical fitness and overall health. Weight-wise during the Whole30 challenge in the fall of 2013, I got down to 198 pounds at one point (October 2013), which was uncomfortable for me. It didn’t feel healthy.

According to the BMI chart, for my height and gender I’m supposed to be down around 165 or 170. And honestly, I’ve not been that light since I started college 27 years ago. When I left college I was around 185/190 and that is in the “overweight” category. And at 225, where I’m at now, I’m in the “obese” range.

Now, I definitely don’t have a model’s physique, but I’m not obese.

I’ve made huge gains in my chest, neck, arms, and legs. But I still have a bit of a “beer belly” left. So that’s what we’re going to focus on over the next few months.

I would like to get (and stay) around 210/215 pounds. And that will require some changes to my diet. That averages to about a pound a week. My problem won’t be losing the weight if I stay on a somewhat strict paleo approach – my problem will be keeping it to a pound a week. I tend to not eat enough when we go this way, so it’ll be an interesting process.

But as far as measurements go, we’re hoping to go from my current 39.75″ waist down to a 36.75″ waist – a difference of 3 inches – over the next 90 days. I’m not sure if we’ll get there, but that’s the goal. 🙂

#3 Improving Mental Focus

Words illustration of a person doing meditation
http://www.dollarphotoclub.com

All of this will require adjusting my brain a bit and changing my schedule so I have a bit more time to address a key part of the equation… meal planning. Though I love my wife very much, she’s a force of nature and we don’t often have time to sit down and plan out evening meals for the week. We try. And sometimes we succeed, but more often than not we fly by the seat of our pants with work, soccer and school schedules.

So we’re going to try doing two things going forward… I’m usually the first person up in the morning at 6 am and my morning routine has been to start the coffee and head down to work (I work from home as a computer geek and my “commute” involves heading to the basement to my home office and logging in).

Instead, we’re going to do two things in the first 30 minutes of my day:

  1. 3x a week, we’ll build in 10 minutes of meditation each day. And during that meditation, among the things I can try to do is visualize hitting my other goals for this 90 days.
  2. And spend time doing meal preparation. That could be putting stuff in the crock pot or dicing things up for use later in the day or just actually coming up with a “plan” – but something needs to be done, so we’ll squeeze this in.

Will this work? I’m not so sure, but something definitely needs to happen. Without a plan, we’re constantly playing catch-up.

And we’ll add one other bit to this – reading a book. Yes, if you know me – you know I *ALWAYS* have at least one book going – sometimes 2 or 3 – so this isn’t a stretch. But I have this book – 59 Seconds: Think a Little, Change a Lot, written by Richard Wiseman, that’s been sitting on my desk for 2 years. It has the dust to prove it. And I’m going to whittle my way through it over the next three months.

What’s next?

So as you can see, I have some work to do. But I’m in good shape to succeed at all of these tasks.

There will be much more going up here, including recipes, workouts, etc. And regular checking in.

My next check-in with Coach Drea is the 8th of May, so we’ll see where we’re at then as far as measurements go. 🙂

Until then, wish me luck and thanks for your support!

One thought on “Goal Setting, part 2”

Leave a Reply

