Is Crossfit Addictive?

Short answer: hell yes. At least I certainly seem to be these days.

yesLonger answer… Addiction is a strange thing. I’m no expert, but the definition of the word is “the fact or condition of being addicted to a particular substance, thing, or activity.” The term has a negative connotation in modern society, largely due to the addictive nature of harmful substances such as tobacco, narcotics, and other things.

“I can give X up at any time” is something I hear a lot from people addicted to cigarettes, for example. Can you really? Certain substances affect the brain and condition us for chemical dependency. Nicotine is one of those things. So is caffeine, though to less a destructive degree.

So where does crossfit fit in? Like running and other forms of exercise, I think crossfit activities release endorphin into the bloodstream, which gives us a bit of a “high” feeling.  We WOD, it creates a happy feeling, and we associate the happy feeling with whatever activity we’re doing. Voila – we’re addicted to crossfit.

Today we did a strength WOD with front squats. I improved my personal record (PR) by 35# over the last time I tried to find my one rep max (1RM). 185# in August 2013 to 220# in February 2014 is insane. And I’m flying high right now.

Not only am I addicted to the endorphin rush from crossfit, but apparently I’m addicted to trying to get better every workout – and discovering that I’ve done that amplifies the high.

If I’m going to be addicted to something, I suppose it’s good that it’s something healthy where I’m surrounded by others who are also trying to better themselves with the same addiction.

What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

