Competing in the Crossfit Games

I have never considered myself an athlete, though I grew up in a household where both parents had been gymnasts and my father played both basketball and softball. I had issues passing the “skip” test to get into kindergarten and wasn’t all that motivated to fall on my face trying athletic endeavors despite thinking it was cool my parents would compete walking on their hands down the front walk to the fence…

johnny_automatic_basketball_playerThat said, I did try little league baseball for a while and ended up having to quit because of asthma attacks that would sideline me after practices. In junior high, I played basketball on the second team on defense. I scored 2 points my entire career over a season and a half.

As an adult, I quit trying. I walked around the Denver Tech Center when I lived and worked in the area. I joined a 24 hour gym for a bit, went a few times, and stopped.

Even after getting married to an athlete (my wife played softball and soccer when we were dating and got married and still plays soccer) and having two daughters who both play soccer, I avoided physical activity.

Why? It was too much work. Too boring. Too hard. Whatever excuse I could come up with, I used.  So I got bigger and bigger. More and more out of shape.

Then I started crossfit. I’m coming up on one year of that effort. And I am so happy I did.

me-handstand-at-boxThe day I could do a handstand on the wall, I had my trainer (thank you Drea!) take this picture, which I immediately sent to my mother. Her response? She was glad that it only took 40 years for me to learn how to do a handstand. She’d tried to teach me when I was really young and I wasn’t ready yet. 🙂

So what the hell was I thinking signing up for the Crossfit Games on January 15th?

Good question. Let’s take a look at that decision for a moment.

When I competed in the Lurong Living Paleo Challenge in 2013, it was for a couple of reasons. First, we were going to be doing the workouts anyway and it would be good to see where I ranked among athletes my age and at my level. Second, it was an excuse to go more strict on the paleo side of the equation before the holidays and continue my weight loss journey. It was a twofer.

Did I rank nationally? No. Were the workouts great ways to benchmark my progress? Yes. Did they offer a way for me to get measurements of my waist, arms, and legs, and see if I was gaining or losing inches in the process? Definitely. Did many of those workouts kick my ass to the point where I wasn’t sure I could breathe or stand up afterwards? Indubitably.

Reebok Crossfit GamesSo what are my goals for the Crossfit Games?

My main goal is the same as it was with the Lurong Challenge. As a box, we will be doing the workouts anyway – so I might as well see how I stack up against other athletes in my age range. I’m not competing so that I can compare myself to folks like Rich Froning. I’m nowhere near his league. And that’s FINE! I respect the man and look forward to seeing him and the other elite athletes kick some serious butt in the games.

But even though I’m not competing against Froning… I’m looking at using these games workouts as ways to challenge myself and pushing harder to see just what I’m capable of. I’ve come a long way and I hope to go a lot farther.

As we keep saying with the paleo diet – it’s not a diet, it’s a lifestyle. Crossfit is much the same. I both love and hate the workouts. And once I get past that, I have fun working hard with people who are having fun working hard.

If you had told me a year ago that I’d still be doing crossfit, I would have asked what you were smoking. But I’m still here because I’m having fun and enjoy working hard with the folks at our box – both trainers and athletes.

The Crossfit Games is just another opportunity (or excuse) to push hard and see what my body is capable of in those moments. More steps along the journey. More reps towards a healthier, stronger me.

So bring it on. I’m never going to think I’m ready or a real athlete, but I’m going to give it whatever I’ve got.

What about you? Are you joining the Crossfit Games? Why the heck not? 🙂

5 thoughts on “Competing in the Crossfit Games”

    1. We’ve been on the paleo diet for the better part of the year. Sometimes strict. Sometimes less so. But it seems to work pretty well.

      And we use some Advocare products – specifically the Nighttime Recovery product – which has helped a ton with post-workout recovery.

      1. It works great for a while but fades in effectiveness a bit, as it gets tough to eat enough sometimes to make sure you have the fuel you need to work out. We’re going to be shifting to a paleo-ish zone diet after a bit, but the paleo diet works well as a post-holiday cleanse to get back on the right track after overindulging over the holidays.

        My wife takes a couple of Advocare products I believe, but I just take the one.

      2. That sounds just like what other people were running into after the diet set in. Talk to your Advocare distributor and he can help with the -ish part of your diet. Main thing is to just stay on a good nutrition track and keep up your fitness regiment.

        Your advocare distributor can even show you how to make it profitable. If he/she is not available let me know and I can walk you through those details.

        Keep up your efforts.

        Advocare Advisor
        Nutrition + Fitness = Health
        For information visit: http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

Leave a Reply

